top of page
  • Writer's pictureEllen

Your purpose in life is to find your purpose and give your whole heart and soul to it


The "end" of the most incredible experience of my life. For 6 weeks I volunteered as an English teacher at Saikeaw School in Thailand, Surin province. Reflecting on this period, I feel so much gratitude and I want to say thank you from the bottom of my heart to a whole bunch of people and some very special ones in particular.


First of all, thank you to all the students for being so motivated to learn, for being just you and for making my job the most rewarding thing I have ever done.

Thanks to the teachers for guiding me at school, opening up their world to new possibilities and new ways of learning, and a special thank you to Teacher Nok & Parn, for being amazing teachers and even more amazing people.

A big thank you to my host family for taking so good care of me, driving me around, sharing local habits, opening up their home and in particular thanks to my new sister Fohn, for always being there for me.

And last but not least, thank you to Fund Isaan and delaware for giving me the chance and trusting me to be part of this amazing program.


I tried to pass on as much as knowledge as possible, but I also learned so much from everyone there.

  • The Thai culture and endless generosity, the respect they have for each other and the way they show it, like the wai greeting;

  • Thai food, always happy to share;

  • Thai religion, the Buddhism doctrine and its many intriguing stories.

Your purpose in life is to find your purpose and give your whole heart and soul to it - Buddha

During my last day I said goodbye to everyone in front of the whole school and shared 2 more lessons with the students and teachers:

  1. Always believe in yourself. You can do anything you want, if you work hard and keep on studying.

  2. Don’t be afraid to make mistakes. Learn as much as possible and don’t worry about being wrong. Keep on trying, never give up and keep on practicing English, as it's very important in this world.

I know this is not the end, and it's far from goodbye. In fact, it's the beginning of meaningful connections, friendships and strong bonds.


Thank you for everything. Khawp khun kha. 🙏



A dream written down with a date becomes a goal.

A goal broken down into steps becomes a plan.

A plan backed by action becomes reality.


Thank you for following my adventure. 🇹🇭❣️

64 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page