top of page
  • Writer's pictureEllen

Hello Teacher Elsa

My first week as Teacher Elsa (as I address the students with their English nickname, they also gave me one of course) in front of all grades from 1 to 6 of a high school in Thailand: CHECK. An incredible experience and it's just getting started...

During my first week at school, it was all about getting to know each other. I met the director, several teachers and most of the students. It was quite intense (being a little bit jet-lagged), but I already got to know a lot of nice people. As you know, I presented myself in front of the whole school and next to that I introduced myself in all of my classes talking about my home, studies, work, hobbies, family and friends, and teached straight away learning the students how they can introduce themselves.


I must say, huge respect for all teachers. It takes a lot of energy to be in front of a class all day long and next to that I have to prepare my lessons completing a worksheet and follow-up closely on the progress of the students. A new experience for me, stepping out of my comfort zone but I really enjoyed interacting with the students so far and tried to make a good connection. As you can see, I couldn't help myself of course and I shared my passion for dance almost in all classes too.


In addition, joining several teachers in several grades implies that I have to adjust each lesson a little according to the approach of the teacher and the level of English of the students (and teacher). In some classes, I could have some small English conversations right away, in other classes on the other hand, it's only about learning a couple of words or short sentences.


I also went to Surin together with the Chinese teacher and T. Lookchin for a physical check-up in the hospital, that's an obligation when you have to get a work permit in Thailand. So now, as the work permit administration is arranged (and my visum to visit Cambodja during one of the weekends yay!), I'm all set.


Curious to know where I hung out during the weekend? Read my next blog post: Wandering through a once-thriving ancient city, like I stepped back in time and discover all about my first weekendtrip.

39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page