top of page
  • Writer's pictureMelanie

Life experience, experiencing life...

This is probably the most difficult article I've had to write on this blog. Rony, our Fund Isaan founder, asked me yesterday "How would you describe your experience here ?"

Some volunteers say it is like a roller coaster. I think that metaphor would imply very good and very bad moments coming one after another. For me, this is not the case, even though I am experiencing an impressive range of life experiences. So, I would say that this experience is Colorful.


Today, I started my 5th week with already a little sadness in the corner of my mind (and my heart) as I do not want the experience to be over yet. Those past weeks, I have watched students grow from very shy kids to kids who come sit next to me, be curious and ask me about what I am doing. Now, they come to chat with me, want to teach me some Thai, ask to learn some french or even ask for help on checking their homework. It is very rewarding and I feel proud when I see them trying there best despite their shyness.



And some days, life strikes with it most painful truth.


Last Tuesday morning, one of my student passed away. He was driving to school on his scooter when a truck hit him and the tractor behind him couldn't stop.


When we heard the news, all the students and teachers were gathered for the morning ceremony. At first, I did not fully understand what had just happened because my fellow teachers were speaking in Thai. However, I can tell you that no matter the language, you immediately understand that someone just died.


Sadness is universal, just as much as Love.


One of the teachers suddenly decided to drive to the place of the accident to help. When I saw how shaken she was and that she decided to go alone, I propose to come with her in case she wouldn't be able to drive afterwards.


That's how we, 3 teachers and I, ended up in front of the lifeless body of our student. The shock was terrible at many levels :

1. Another student was there because she was driving behind her friend and saw him die.

2. While the Police Officers had secured the area, the ambulance staff was still checking his body visible to everyone.

3. I found myself crying and praying for him.

4. It took such a long time for his body to be covered and taken away...the student who saw the accident couldn't take her eyes of this scene. And unfortunately, she will not get any psychological help.

5. I am not a doctor, but to the view of his body, you could guess that he died instantly or if he felt pain, it must have been for a very brief moment.


In 4 little weeks of teaching at Buached Wittaya School, I realize that I already got attached to those kids even the "naughty" ones who are chatting and not listening. They are all pretty unique and I am happy to share this tiny part of their lives.



62 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page