top of page
  • Writer's pictureMelanie

Let's catch that plane !

Updated: Nov 1, 2019


Packing is done, but I'm sure I will go through it one last time. (I might be over prepared...we will see that soon hahaha)


Until now, I gave you no information about the school, host family, the flight and teaching preparation so keep reading, it's right below.


My school for 6 weeks Buachet Wittaya School, it is a large secondary school located in Buached district of Surin province. I will be teaching the students from M.1-M.6 (Year 1-6 of high school). The school is so big that some volunteers said they had to use a bike to go to the several buildings.

My host family The Phirom's family will be my host family. They are the parents of a Buached Witthaya student. Their house is close to the school. The family has two kids, one 16 years old girl and a 12 years old boy. Looks like one of the kids will arrive at school with the teacher !


My travel

A couple of volunteers and I will arrive at Suvarnnabhumi Airport on Monday the 4th of November at 6.15 am (local time). Our path will separate from there as we all be deployed at different schools, host families and districts of Surin. After 11 hours of flight, I will still have 6 hours drive to go through...


My teaching preparation

Having no experience in teaching English isn't an issue. Learning through games, songs, or just by talking with everyone seems to be what works best over there. I have read a lot of reports from previous volunteers and Fund Isaan is also helping us prepare for our mission. I also prepared Flash cards that I will use for games and a PowerPoint presentation to introduce myself to the students, teachers and why not, my host family. The rest will be done with the teachers depending on the level of their students, if they have an ongoing lesson plan etc.


For the curious little guys you are :

Our flight TG935 will leave this sunday at 13.10 from Brussels, you can track it from here

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page