top of page
  • Writer's pictureEllen

Ready to make a real difference

Updated: Nov 8, 2019


Last year, I joined a B1 event from delaware for the first time: all #peopleofdelaware come together getting all kinds of company updates. The 'WeCare'-team gave a presentation, showing a couple of initiatives the new juniors working on related to good causes. I was blown away.



It was impressive to see how the values of delaware are carried out by everyone from the start. I wanted to contribute as well and decided to submit my motivation letter to participate in the Fund Isaan program, assisting the local English teachers in an immersive 6-week teaching program.


Why do I believe in the Fund Isaan program?

Not just to go on an adventure, make a trip to Thailand, … Previous volunteers told me it can be hard sometimes: you stay in a rural isolated community, have to live in a different way, following another rhythm… But those feelings of doubts vanished completely when remembering why they were there. It’s not just about teaching some English words and grammar. It’s a lot more than that. You have a chance to make a real difference and you can have an impact on the lives of the students and change their outcome. It’s not only about improving their education but most of all about discovering the world outside Isaan. The biggest teaching part is to familiarize the children with the idea that a good knowledge of English opens doors to get a better view on the world and eventually increase their chances in life. That’s why I believe in the strength of this program, no doubt.


Why do I want to go personally?

“All growth happens outside of your comfort zone”, is the motto of a good friend of mine I absolutely agree with. I’d like to take up this challenge and hope to truly be an added value to these students and impact their lives in a positive way. Teaching children is a very rewarding job, I don’t think it will be easy at all and I will have to be patient sometimes. But it will definitely be a worthwhile journey.

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page