top of page
  • Writer's pictureEllen

Prepping prepping prepping

The countdown has began, only a couple of days left until I'll start my crazy adventure: teaching English classes for 6 weeks at a high school in Thailand!


Where will I volunteer? Saikaew Witthaya School, a medium secondary school located in Prasat district of Surin province. I will be teaching the students from M.1-M.6 (year 1-6 of high school). Different classes, different levels, ... a challenging mission for sure ;-)


Where will I hang out? My host family's name is Mrs. Orm, a former Mayor of the local district. She lives with a family of four people in a house 3 km away from the school. Exciting!


Travel preps? I obtained my visa, sought medical advice and started packing using my brand new back pack thanks to my lovely friends - super cool birthday gift! This way, I'll have my friends a little bit with me the whole time :-) The school staff will be waiting at the arrival gate of Suvarnnabhumi Airport. Although, there are a couple of volunteers on the ground at the same time, we will all be deployed at different schools and live with different guest families. This is done to promote our integration in the local community. 


Teaching preps? I don't really have any experience in English teaching, so I want to prepare myself a little. Fund Isaan provided us with some ticks and trips, I'm going through reports of previous volunteers, and Mélanie (my colleague who will volunteer as well) helped me a lot! I do have experience in teaching dance classes, so that's something I can work with - looking forward to getting to do some Thai dancing too ;-)


Last things before I leave?

Saying goodbye to friends? Well, last Friday I went home after work, thinking I would have a nice dinner with just a friend. I opened my door and... Look at that, friends & colleagues all just standing in front of me! I've never been more surprised in my life, I had no clue!!! We enjoyed some delicious wraps and went to a silent disco afterwards, SO COOL.


Oh, and not to forget: buying some gifts for my host family, I was thinking chocolate ;-)

36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page